MMLU (5-Shot CoT)

MMLU (5-Shot CoT) stands for Measuring Massive Multitask Language Understanding 5-Shot Chain of Thought.

MMLU (5-Shot CoT) is a variant of the MMLU benchmark where the LLM is given only 5 examples of each task before being evaluated on its performance. This is known as the few-shot setting, and it is a more challenging test of the LLM's ability to learn and generalize.

The CoT stands for Chain of Thought. In this setting, the LLM is given a step-by-step explanation of how to solve a task, rather than just the input and output. This helps the LLM to better understand the task and to develop a more generalizable solution.

MMLU (5-Shot CoT) is a challenging benchmark, but it is also a very important one. It helps researchers to develop LLMs that are more capable and versatile, and it also helps to ensure that LLMs are used responsibly and ethically.

Here are some examples of tasks that might be evaluated in MMLU (5-Shot CoT):

  • Answer a question about a piece of text.

  • Summarize a piece of text.

  • Generate code to solve a problem.

  • Translate a piece of text from one language to another.

  • Write a poem or story.

The LLM is evaluated on its accuracy and fluency in completing these tasks.

MMLU (5-Shot CoT) is a relatively new benchmark, but it has already been used to evaluate some of the most state-of-the-art LLMs, such as Google's Flan-PaLM. Flan-PaLM achieved a score of 75.2% on MMLU (5-Shot CoT), which is the current state-of-the-art.

As LLMs continue to improve, we can expect to see even higher scores on MMLU (5-Shot CoT). This will help to ensure that LLMs are used to solve a wider range of problems and to benefit society in new and innovative ways.

Last updated